On August 17, 2017, a new era of astronomy was inaugurated by a short gamma-ray burst accompanying the gravitational wave GW170817 detected by LIGO-VIRGO.  While the neutrinos from SN1987a had been a first milestone towards multi-messenger astronomy three decades earlier, the true breakthrough in High-Energy Neutrino astronomy is about to take place today, due to the recent advances in large volume ice and water detectors.
One of the most important observational challenges of our time is to establish the link between the discoveries of these new astronomies and the electromagnetic Universe. As the same violent phenomena that generate gravitational waves and/or high energy neutrinos are also the source of high energy photons, gamma-ray astronomy has been - and will remain - pivotal in connecting new and "old" astronomies.

Besides leading an ambitious legacy science program, INTEGRAL is presently one of the best suited detectors for identifying electromagnetic counterparts to the cataclysmic events that will continue to be discovered with gravitational waves and high energy neutrinos. This conference will discuss recent developments in high energy astronomy, with particular emphasis on its role in multi-messenger astronomy. Beyond the present generation of gamma-ray instruments, the choral of multi-messenger astronomies will require a voice in the MeV band. One of the aims of the workshop is therefore to review the status and development of future instruments and to discuss perspectives in observational gamma-ray astronomy; these topics will be highlighted during the meeting as AHEAD Gamma-ray workshop (AHEAD is a European Community H2020 program, one of its goals is enabling the development of future gamma-ray astrophysics missions).
During the Symposium a young scientist (younger than thirty-five yearsold as of July 31, 2018) will be awarded the "Mikhail Revnivtsev Prize", a distinction established in honour of the renowned high-energyastrophysicist.

Invited Speakers:

Anthony Bird, Alice Borghese, Marica Branchesi, Sara Buson, Dominique Eckert, Thorsten Ensslin, Chris Fryer, Keith Gendreau, Gabriele Ghisellini, Victoria Grinberg, Kael Hanson, Gianluca Israel, Philippe Jetzer, Roman Krivonos, Peter Meszaros, Jan-Uwe Ness, Alessandro Papitto, Fiona Panther, Luigi Piro, Elisa Prandini, Claudio Ricci, Volodymyr Savchenko, Thomas Siegert, John Tomsick, Eleonora Troja, Peter Veres, Aleksi Vuorinen

AHEAD Speakers (in order of presentation):

Peter von Ballmoss, Lorenzo Natalucci, Andreas Zoglauer, Giulia Mantovani, Vincent Tatischeff, Lorraine Hanlon, Rui Curado da Silva, Nicolas Produit, Hsiang-Kuang Chang, Denis Bernard, Alexander Moiseev, Richard Miller, Thorsten Ensslin, Carolyn Kierans, Paolo Cumani, Aleksandar Gostojic, Peter Bloser, Aldo Morselli, Bertrand Cordier, Lorenzo Amati, Filippo Frontera, Enrico Virgilli, Luciano Burderi, Matthew Kerr

Scientific Organizing Committee:

Volker Beckmann, Enrico Bozzo, Tony Bird, Marica Branchesi, Eugene Churazov, Brad Cenko, Roland Diehl, Carlo Ferrigno (chair), Diego Götz, Victoria Grinberg, Matteo Guainazzi, Lorraine Hanlon, Dieter Hartmann, Margarita Hernanz, Roman Krivonos, Erik Kuulkers (co-chair), Philippe Laurent, Alexander Lutovinov, Angela Malizia, Julie McEnery, Aldo Morselli, Lorenzo Natalucci, Stephane Paltani, Alessandro Papitto, Elena Pian, Luigi Piro, Jean-Pierre Roques, Rui da Silva, Vincent Tatischeff, John Tomsick, Eleonora Troja, Pietro Ubertini, Peter von Ballmoos (co-chair), Jörn Wilms

Local Organizing Committee:

Carlo Ferrigno, Enrico Bozzo, Volodymyr Savchenko, Martine Anne Logossou-Jacot, Peter von Ballmoos